Oscar Winning Movies
Best Picture or Outstanding Motion Picture

About the Oscars

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences annually recognizes and celebrates excellence in film making with an award named Oscar. The first motion picture to receive an Oscar for Outstanding Picture was Wings. The first Academy Award ceremony was held at the Roosevelt Hotel in Hollywood. In 2001, the Dolby Theater (formerly Kodak Theater) in Hollywood became the permanent home of the annual Academy Awards ceremony. In 1983 Terms of Endearment starring Shirley McLaine, Debra Winger and Jack Nicholson, won five Oscars including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Writing, Best Actress (Shirley McLaine) and Best Supporting Actor (Jack Nicholson).

Shop Oscar Winning Movies

Previous Next>>

The movies listed below were voted Best Picture or Outanding Picture by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Scienes: Rocky-1976, Annie Hall-1977, The Deer Hunter-1978, Kramer vs. Kramer-1979, Ordinary People-1980, Chariots of Fire-1981, Gandhi-1982, and Terms of Endearment-1983.

    Contact Us